Last checked:
FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE releases on 22 October 2026, but Square Enix has not yet published an exact unlock hour for any region. The date is confirmed on the Steam pre-purchase page; the time, the preload window and the download size are still unannounced. This page converts the launch date into every major time zone and will be updated the moment an official hour appears.
What Square Enix has confirmed so far
The firm facts are short. FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE has a Steam pre-purchase page, a product page on Nintendo’s site for Switch 2, and a locked launch date of 22 October 2026. Coverage of the announcement also points to a demo, which means you can expect at least some of the game’s data to be downloadable before the full release.
Everything beyond that remains open. Square Enix has not stated whether the game unlocks at the same moment worldwide or rolls out at midnight in each territory. It has not published a file size, a preload start, system requirements or an age rating that we can quote with confidence. Treat any specific number you see elsewhere as unverified until it appears on a store page or an official Square Enix channel.
One point of disambiguation worth making early: this is a new title, not an entry in the FINAL FANTASY Pixel Remaster line. Searches for the two overlap, and pre-order bonuses, prices and release timing differ completely between them.
Release time by time zone
Because no unlock hour exists yet, the honest table has one confirmed column and two reference columns. The confirmed column is the date. The reference columns show what the two most common PC launch patterns would produce, so you can plan around either and correct the moment Square Enix commits.
Daylight saving matters here. On 22 October 2026 the United States is still on daylight time, the UK is still on BST and central Europe is still on CEST, since all three change on 25 October or later. Japan does not observe daylight saving. Australia’s eastern states except Queensland moved to AEDT on 4 October 2026, so Sydney and Melbourne sit one hour ahead of the AEST figure shown for Brisbane.
| Time zone | Confirmed release | If Steam’s typical 10:00 PT unlock is used | If midnight local unlock is used |
|---|---|---|---|
| PT (PDT, Los Angeles) | 22 Oct 2026 | 10:00, 22 Oct | 00:00, 22 Oct |
| ET (EDT, New York) | 22 Oct 2026 | 13:00, 22 Oct | 00:00, 22 Oct |
| UK (BST, London) | 22 Oct 2026 | 18:00, 22 Oct | 00:00, 22 Oct |
| CET (CEST, Berlin, Paris) | 22 Oct 2026 | 19:00, 22 Oct | 00:00, 22 Oct |
| JST (Tokyo) | 22 Oct 2026 | 02:00, 23 Oct | 00:00, 22 Oct |
| AEST (Brisbane) | 22 Oct 2026 | 03:00, 23 Oct | 00:00, 22 Oct |
| AEDT (Sydney, Melbourne) | 22 Oct 2026 | 04:00, 23 Oct | 00:00, 22 Oct |
Read the two reference columns as scenarios, not promises. The 10:00 Pacific figure is simply Steam’s default unlock when a publisher sets a date without a specific hour. The midnight-local figure is what many console storefronts and some Japanese publishers prefer. Square Enix has used both approaches across its catalogue and has not said which applies here.
Notice what each scenario means for you. Under a single global unlock at 10:00 Pacific, Japanese and Australian players receive the game in the early hours of 23 October by their own clocks, even though the official date reads 22 October. Under a midnight-local rollout, Australia and Japan play first and the US west coast plays last, nearly a full day behind Sydney.
How to find the real unlock hour yourself

You do not have to wait for news coverage. Steam exposes the exact unlock moment on the store page once a publisher has set it, and Nintendo’s eShop does the same closer to launch.
Check the Steam countdown
- Open the FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE store page while signed in.
- Look above the purchase button for the “unlocks in approximately” counter.
- A countdown in days only means no hour has been set. A countdown showing hours and minutes means the publisher has committed to a time.
- Hover the counter to see the unlock converted to your local time.
The distinction in step 3 is the useful one. Steam shows a day count whenever the publisher has only entered a date, and a precise countdown once an hour exists. As of the last check the page shows the former. When that changes, the table above will be updated with confirmed figures.
For Switch 2, open the game’s eShop page on your console or on Nintendo’s website. Nintendo typically lists a release date rather than a time, and eShop titles commonly become available at local midnight in each region. That is a pattern across the storefront, not a confirmation for this game, so treat it as a likelihood rather than a fact.
Preload: what is known
Nothing is confirmed. Steam allows publishers to enable preloading for pre-purchased titles, but the window is entirely a publisher decision and varies widely, from two or three days before unlock to a week or more (Battlefield 6, for example, opened preloads a full seven days ahead of launch), and some games never get one. Square Enix has not stated whether FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE will preload, when, or how large the encrypted download will be.
If a preload is announced, it appears in two places: the Steam store page gains a “preload available” notice, and the game shows as downloadable in your library with a greyed-out play button. The data sits encrypted until the unlock moment, at which point Steam decrypts it in place. Decryption of a large game can still take several minutes after the countdown hits zero, so an unlock at 18:00 BST does not always mean playing at 18:00 BST.
Good to know
A demo is reported for this title. If the full game shares assets with the demo build, Steam sometimes reuses downloaded files, but it is safer to assume you need the full release size in free space on top of the demo until Square Enix confirms the installation footprint.
Switch 2 handles pre-purchases similarly. Pre-ordered eShop titles pre-download automatically when the publisher enables it, usually within the final week. Physical copies have no preload step but may carry a day-one update.
File size and system requirements
Not confirmed. The Steam page will list minimum and recommended PC specifications and an “available space” figure once Square Enix populates those fields. Until then, no number here would be more than a guess, and a guess is worse than a blank.
What you can prepare for in general terms: modern Final Fantasy releases on PC have ranged widely in size, and a title that also targets Switch 2 is not guaranteed to be small on PC, since PC builds often ship higher-resolution textures and uncompressed audio. Clear more space than you think you need, and check back here or on the store page in the final weeks before 22 October when the requirements section is traditionally filled in.
The same applies to the Switch 2 version. Nintendo’s product pages state a download size once the game is close to launch, typically alongside the preload opening.
Price, editions and pre-order bonuses
Pricing is live on the Steam pre-purchase page in your regional currency, but it varies by territory and editions can be added or changed before launch, so this page does not reproduce a single figure. Check the store page for your region directly. Square Enix has not confirmed a physical edition lineup beyond the Switch 2 listing at the time of the last check.
If you pre-purchase on Steam, bonus content attaches to your account automatically; there is no key code to redeem. Retail Switch 2 copies that include bonus items may ship with a download code inside the case, and those codes carry an expiry date printed on the insert. Read the insert before you assume the bonus is permanent.
Store page images and video are the most reliable guide to which edition contains what. The pre-order bonus artwork, logo variants and trailer clips Square Enix posts there are the canonical versions; third-party listings sometimes lag behind edition changes.
Platforms and the open questions
Two platforms have official listings: PC via Steam, and Nintendo Switch 2 via Nintendo’s store. No other platform has been confirmed, and this page will not list PlayStation or Xbox versions unless Square Enix announces them.
Crossplay, cross-save and online components have not been described. Until Square Enix publishes a feature list, assume nothing about multiplayer or shared progression between PC and Switch 2. If you want background on what those terms mean in practice before the details land, our explainer on cross-platform gaming covers the difference between crossplay and cross-progression and why publishers often ship one without the other.
Age rating is also unconfirmed. Steam pages display ESRB, PEGI or CERO ratings once the publisher adds them, and Nintendo’s pages show regional ratings as well. If you are unfamiliar with the descriptor labels those boards use, our video game content rating guide explains each one.
How this launch compares with other autumn 2026 releases
Several large games in the same window have handled unlock timing differently, which is why the two-scenario table above matters. Some publishers announce a single global moment weeks in advance with a time zone graphic; others leave the hour to the storefront default and never mention it. If you are tracking more than one release this season, our pages on crimson desert release time and ghost of yotei release time follow the same format and show how each publisher chose to handle regional unlocks. The battlefield 6 release time page is a useful example of a staggered unlock with a published preload window, which is the pattern many PC players hope Square Enix adopts here.
Until Square Enix commits, the practical advice is the same regardless of pattern: pre-purchase only if you are comfortable with an unknown hour, keep enough disk space free for an unannounced size, and watch the Steam countdown rather than social media for the authoritative moment.
Who to contact if the game does not unlock
If the countdown reaches zero and the game remains locked, the first fix is restarting Steam, which forces a refresh of licence state. If the problem persists for more than a few minutes after the published unlock, Square Enix customer support handles game-specific issues through its support portal, while Steam Support handles purchase and library problems. Regional unlocks occasionally stagger by a few minutes as store caches update, so a short delay is normal and not a fault.
FAQ
What time does FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE unlock on Steam?
No hour is confirmed. The Steam page currently shows a day-based countdown, which indicates Square Enix has set a date but not a time. If no time is added, Steam’s default unlock is 10:00 Pacific, which is 18:00 BST, 19:00 CEST, 02:00 JST on 23 October and 03:00 AEST on 23 October.
Does FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE release at midnight?
Not confirmed. A midnight-local rollout would put every region’s unlock at 00:00 on 22 October by local clocks, meaning Australia and Japan play first. Square Enix has not stated whether it will use this approach or a single worldwide moment.
Can I preload FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE?
Not confirmed. Steam supports preloading for pre-purchased titles when the publisher enables it, and most large releases open the download a few days before launch, but Square Enix has not announced a preload window or size for this game.
How big is the FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE download?
Not confirmed. The Steam system requirements section and Nintendo’s product page will list the installation size closer to launch. No reliable figure exists yet.
Is FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE on PlayStation or Xbox?
Only PC via Steam and Nintendo Switch 2 have official store listings. No other platforms have been announced.
Is there a demo?
Announcement coverage reports a demo for FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE. Check the Steam and Switch 2 store pages for availability, since demo timing and content can change before the 22 October full release.
Is this the same as FINAL FANTASY Pixel Remaster?
No. FINAL FANTASY RESONANCE is a separate, new release. The Pixel Remaster collection covers the first six numbered games and has its own pricing and platforms.
