Last checked:
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 launches on 23 October 2026, with PC (Windows) confirmed through the Steam pre-purchase listing, and Activision’s official PC blog states that the full game releases on 23 October at midnight local time. That means the exact release time in your region is midnight on 23 October in your own time zone. Below you will find the confirmed facts, the two unlock patterns Activision has used for recent launches converted into every major time zone, and the details that are still missing.
What is confirmed right now
The release date and the unlock model are the launch-timing facts with an official source behind them. Activision’s announcement post and the Steam pre-purchase page both carry 23 October 2026. Activision’s official PC blog states that the full game releases on 23 October at midnight local time, a rolling unlock in each time zone rather than one fixed moment for the whole planet.
That distinction matters more than it sounds. In some years a player in Sydney has been able to play a full day before a player in New York. In other years everyone, from Seoul to São Paulo, started within the same minute. With Activision stating a local-midnight model, you can pin the unlock to midnight on your own clock.
| Launch detail | Status | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Release date | Confirmed: 23 October 2026 | Official (Activision, Steam) |
| PC (Windows) release | Confirmed | Official (Steam listing) |
| Unlock hour | Confirmed: midnight local time | Official (Activision PC blog) |
| Unlock model (local midnight vs global) | Confirmed: local midnight | Official (Activision PC blog) |
| Preload start | Confirmed: 15 October, 9 AM PT | Official (Activision PC blog) |
| Launch-day file size | Not announced | None yet |
| Campaign early access | Not announced | None yet |
Everything in the time-zone tables below is a conversion of past Activision behaviour, labelled as such. Treat those tables as planning aids, not as the official schedule. When Activision publishes the launch hour, this page will replace the scenarios with the single confirmed row.
Release time by region: the two patterns Activision has used
Every Call of Duty since 2022 has followed one of two unlock models. Rather than guess which one Modern Warfare 4 will use, here is what 23 October 2026 looks like under each, converted correctly for the daylight-saving rules in force on that date.
Two timing facts about 23 October 2026 shape the maths. North America and Europe are both still on summer time (US clocks fall back on 1 November, UK and EU clocks on 25 October), so Pacific time is UTC-7, Eastern is UTC-4, the UK is UTC+1 and Central Europe is UTC+2. Australia has already moved the other way: New South Wales and Victoria switched to daylight time on 4 October, so Sydney sits at UTC+11 while Brisbane stays at UTC+10. Japan and South Korea do not observe daylight saving and remain at UTC+9 year-round.
Pattern A: single global unlock
Black Ops 6 did not launch at a single global instant. On PC through Steam and Battle.net it unlocked at 9 PM Pacific on 24 October 2024, which was 5 AM in the UK and 1 PM in Tokyo on 25 October, while console and Microsoft Store versions unlocked at midnight local time in each region. If Activision were to use a single 5 AM Pacific global unlock for Modern Warfare 4, your local time would be:
| Time zone | Local time (if 5 AM PT global unlock) | Date |
|---|---|---|
| Pacific (PDT, Los Angeles) | 5:00 AM | 23 October |
| Eastern (EDT, New York) | 8:00 AM | 23 October |
| UK (BST, London) | 1:00 PM | 23 October |
| Central Europe (CEST, Berlin, Paris) | 2:00 PM | 23 October |
| Japan (JST, Tokyo) | 9:00 PM | 23 October |
| South Korea (KST, Seoul) | 9:00 PM | 23 October |
| Australia East (AEST, Brisbane) | 10:00 PM | 23 October |
| Australia East (AEDT, Sydney, Melbourne) | 11:00 PM | 23 October |
| New Zealand (NZDT, Auckland) | 1:00 AM | 24 October |
Note that 5 AM Pacific is only an illustrative hour. A global unlock for Modern Warfare 4 could land at a different hour entirely. The useful part of the table is the offset between columns: whatever Pacific hour Activision announces, add three hours for New York, eight for London, nine for Berlin, sixteen for Tokyo and Seoul, seventeen for Brisbane and eighteen for Sydney.
Pattern B: 9 PM Pacific the night before, with PlayStation at local midnight (Modern Warfare II and III model)
Modern Warfare II in 2022 and Modern Warfare III in 2023 both split the launch by platform. PlayStation players got the game at midnight in their own time zone, while Xbox and PC (Battle.net and Steam) unlocked worldwide at 9 PM Pacific on the evening before the release date, which is midnight in New York. If Modern Warfare 4 returns to that model, PC players would see:
| Time zone | Local time (if 9 PM PT previous-evening unlock) | Date |
|---|---|---|
| Pacific (PDT, Los Angeles) | 9:00 PM | 22 October |
| Eastern (EDT, New York) | 12:00 AM | 23 October |
| UK (BST, London) | 5:00 AM | 23 October |
| Central Europe (CEST, Berlin, Paris) | 6:00 AM | 23 October |
| Japan (JST, Tokyo) | 1:00 PM | 23 October |
| South Korea (KST, Seoul) | 1:00 PM | 23 October |
| Australia East (AEST, Brisbane) | 2:00 PM | 23 October |
| Australia East (AEDT, Sydney, Melbourne) | 3:00 PM | 23 October |
| New Zealand (NZDT, Auckland) | 5:00 PM | 23 October |
Under this pattern a PlayStation owner in Auckland would start at midnight on 23 October local time, roughly 21 hours ahead of a PlayStation owner in Los Angeles, while a Steam player in both cities would start at the same moment. Whether any console version of Modern Warfare 4 uses local midnight is not announced, and this page does not confirm the console lineup; the PC date is the one with a store listing behind it.
Why Activision changed its unlock model, and what that tells you

Black Ops 6, the first Call of Duty released after Microsoft acquired Activision Blizzard and the first to launch into Game Pass on day one, kept a split schedule: PC unlocked at 9 PM Pacific on 24 October 2024 while console and Microsoft Store versions waited for midnight local time in each region. A subscription that unlocks a game for every subscriber at once sits awkwardly with a staggered schedule, yet Activision did not move every platform to one shared minute.
Black Ops 7 followed in November 2025, also arriving on Game Pass at launch. Modern Warfare 4’s subscription status is not announced, so you cannot use that logic to predict its unlock model; Activision’s PC blog has instead stated a midnight local time unlock directly. What you can do is watch for two signals in Activision’s pre-launch posts: a line that reads “launches globally at” followed by a Pacific time points to Pattern A, while separate PlayStation and Xbox/PC timings point to Pattern B.
| Game | Release date | Unlock model | PC unlock (Pacific) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Modern Warfare II | 28 October 2022 | Split: PlayStation local midnight, Xbox/PC global | 9 PM PT, 27 October |
| Modern Warfare III | 10 November 2023 | Split: PlayStation local midnight, Xbox/PC global | 9 PM PT, 9 November |
| Black Ops 6 | 25 October 2024 | Split: console local midnight, PC global | 9 PM PT, 24 October |
| Black Ops 7 | 14 November 2025 | Single global unlock, all platforms | Verifying for this page |
| Modern Warfare 4 | 23 October 2026 | Midnight local time (Activision PC blog) | Midnight local time |
The dates in that table are from each game’s official launch announcements at the time. The 2025 unlock hour is listed as “verifying” rather than stated from memory, because a wrong historical figure would undermine the conversions you rely on.
Preload: what is known and what to expect
Preload timing for Modern Warfare 4 is announced: Activision’s official PC blog states that preloading begins on 15 October at 9 AM PT. For planning purposes, recent Call of Duty launches have opened preload on consoles several days before release and on PC either alongside or slightly after, with Steam and Battle.net each showing a countdown on the store page once the preload window opens. Activision typically publishes preload details in a launch blog post roughly one week before the date.
Good to know
Call of Duty installs are modular through the Call of Duty HQ hub, so you can tick only the Campaign, Multiplayer or Warzone packs you intend to play on launch day and pull the rest later, which matters when every file in the package is updated on day one.
File size for the launch build is not published. Modern Warfare III and Black Ops 6 each landed with install footprints above 100 GB when every mode pack was selected, which is the reason the modular install exists. Expect Activision to publish per-platform storage figures in the preload post, and expect those figures to change with the day-one update. This page will add a per-platform size table when the numbers are official.
If you preload on Steam, the download is encrypted until the unlock moment and the store page displays “This game will unlock in approximately” with a live countdown once Valve has the publisher’s time on file. That countdown is the fastest way to confirm your personal unlock hour, because Steam renders it in your system clock’s time zone. Battle.net shows a similar timer inside the launcher.
Platforms and Call of Duty HQ
PC (Windows) is the confirmed platform, sold through Steam with a pre-purchase listing. Activision’s own technology and platforms overview lists where the game will run; this page will add a per-platform row with store links removed and release details filled in once each store page is live and checked.
Since late 2023, every Call of Duty release has installed into the Call of Duty HQ application rather than as a standalone executable. The practical effects for launch night are that the HQ app itself must be installed and updated before the Modern Warfare 4 packs can download, and that your Warzone installation shares that same hub. Players who skipped the previous year sometimes discover the HQ app needs a multi-gigabyte update of its own on launch day, so run that update before the unlock hour rather than after.
Cross-platform play has shipped in every mainline Call of Duty since 2019’s Modern Warfare, but a console-only lobby toggle for standard multiplayer was not available at launch of every title: Black Ops 6 added it in Season 3 in April 2025, it lives in the crossplay settings menu, and it is offered to console players only, not PC players. Modern Warfare 4’s crossplay listing is not confirmed on this page yet; if you want the general mechanics of how shared pools and input-based matchmaking work, our explainer on cross-platform gaming covers the terms you will see in the settings menu.
Choose your region: does your location change the launch time?
Under a single global unlock, no. Every region starts at the same instant and the only thing that differs is the number on your clock. Under a split model, PlayStation users in time zones ahead of UTC start earlier in real terms, which is why New Zealand and eastern Australia have historically been the first places to see Call of Duty campaigns go live.
Some players change their console region to New Zealand to pull a local-midnight unlock forward. That trick only functions when the game actually uses local midnight, and it has no effect on a global unlock. It also carries risks: purchases are tied to the region of the account that made them, DLC and store credit can fail to match, and Activision’s terms allow it to act against accounts that misrepresent their location. For a game that has not announced its unlock model, there is no reason to touch region settings at all.
On PC, Steam enforces the publisher’s unlock per account region, not per system clock. Changing your Windows time zone will alter how the countdown displays but will not open the files early. The same applies to Battle.net.
For comparison, two other large 2025 launches handled this differently: Sony’s Ghost of Yotei used a straightforward local-midnight unlock on PS5, while EA chose a single worldwide moment for Battlefield 6. If you want those schedules for reference, the Ghost of Yotei release time and Battlefield 6 release time pages on this site lay them out by zone, and the Crimson Desert release time page does the same for Pearl Abyss’s open-world title.
Beta rewards and how they carry into launch
Activision ran a multiplayer beta for Modern Warfare 4 ahead of release, structured around an early access period for pre-orders followed by open weekends, with a second open weekend adding further maps and modes. Beta rewards in recent Call of Duty titles have been granted at full launch to the Activision account that earned them during the test, and Activision has described the same approach for Modern Warfare 4’s beta rewards.
The specific reward tiers, the level thresholds that unlock them and the exact items are listed in Activision’s beta rewards post; they are not reproduced here with numbers because reward lists have been adjusted between beta and launch in previous years. What you can rely on is the mechanism: log into the launch build with the same Activision ID you used in the beta and the items appear in your inventory, usually after a short delay while the account syncs.
Beta progress itself, meaning your weapon levels, unlocked attachments and player rank, does not transfer to the full game. Activision wipes beta progression at every launch so that every soldier starts at level one on day one. If you spent the beta levelling a favourite weapon, you will be doing it again from 23 October.
If you joined the beta without pre-ordering, your access was through the open weekends and your account still qualifies for any reward tier you reached. Pre-order status affects early access to the beta, not reward eligibility.
Patch notes access and the day-one update
Activision publishes patch notes through the official Call of Duty blog, and during the beta it posted notes between weekends covering weapon tuning, movement adjustments and spawn fixes. For launch, expect a full day-one patch notes post on or shortly before 23 October. The day-one update is also the moment when the launch file size becomes meaningful, because the preload build and the playable build differ.
If you want the notes as they publish, the Call of Duty blog’s Modern Warfare 4 section and the in-game HQ news tab both carry them. Community patch-note trackers mirror the content, but the blog is the source of record, and this site only states figures that appear there.
Campaign, Multiplayer, DMZ and Warzone: the mode lineup Activision has outlined
Activision’s announcement material organises Modern Warfare 4 into a campaign, a multiplayer suite and a DMZ mode, alongside a Warzone integration that carries the usual Resurgence playlists. Each of those has an overview section on the official site; this page covers only what each one means for your launch-day planning rather than the content itself.
Campaign. Modern Warfare II and Modern Warfare III both gave pre-order customers early access to the campaign roughly a week before the main release, starting at 10 AM Pacific on the early access day. Black Ops 6 did not. Modern Warfare 4’s early access status is not announced. If Activision offers it, the campaign unlock would have its own hour and its own time-zone conversion, and this page will add a dedicated table.
Multiplayer. The full multiplayer suite is what the beta tested, and launch brings the complete map pool, weapon roster and progression. Multiplayer unlocks at the same moment as the rest of the package under either unlock model; there has been no case of Activision staggering multiplayer behind the campaign at full release.
DMZ. DMZ returns as a listed mode in Activision’s overview. The original DMZ launched with Warzone 2.0 on 16 November 2022, a few weeks after Modern Warfare II’s 28 October 2022 release, as an extraction mode that stayed in beta for its entire life. Whether Modern Warfare 4’s DMZ is available on 23 October or arrives with the first season is not stated in the material published so far.
Warzone. Warzone integrates with each new premium release through a seasonal update, which has historically landed a few weeks after the premium game rather than on the same day. Resurgence playlists, Warzone’s faster respawn-enabled format, are referenced in Activision’s content intel. The integration date for Modern Warfare 4’s weapons, operators and movement systems into Warzone is not announced, and Warzone Mobile remains a separate client with its own update cadence.
Weapon handling and movement were the most-discussed systems during the beta, and Activision’s “Warfare Without Limits” framing in the announcement leans on movement freedom and control across the sandbox. Tuning details belong in the patch notes rather than here.
Editions and pricing
Activision has sold recent Call of Duty titles in a standard edition and a premium Vault Edition, with the Vault Edition bundling operator skins, weapon blueprints and a battle pass. Modern Warfare 4’s edition lineup and prices are available on the Steam listing, and this site tracks them on the Call of Duty price page rather than here, because edition prices change with regional pricing updates and launch-week discounts.
One edition-related point does affect release time. Vault Edition purchases in previous years were the ticket to campaign early access where it existed, and to early beta access. If Modern Warfare 4 announces campaign early access, check whether it applies to all pre-orders or only to the premium edition before you assume you can play early.
Age rating
Every mainline Call of Duty has carried an ESRB Mature 17+ rating and a PEGI 18 rating, with descriptors covering blood, intense violence and strong language. Modern Warfare 4’s final rating certificates are not confirmed on this page. If you are unsure what the individual descriptors mean when the listing goes up, the video game content rating explainer on this site defines each one.
Call of Duty: NEXT
Call of Duty: NEXT is Activision’s annual pre-launch showcase, streamed with creators playing the new multiplayer live and usually timed to the day before a beta’s early access opens. The 2026 edition presented Modern Warfare 4’s multiplayer, Warzone integration and the beta schedule. It did not state the launch unlock hour; Activision has consistently saved that detail for the launch blog in the final weeks.
What to do before 23 October
Launch-day checklist
- Update the Call of Duty HQ app before launch week so the hub itself is not downloading during the unlock.
- Open the Steam or Battle.net store page and note the countdown timer once it appears; it reflects your system time zone.
- Preload the moment Activision opens the window, selecting only the mode packs you need on night one.
- Confirm you are logged into the Activision ID you used during the beta so rewards land in the right account.
- Check your storage with the day-one update in mind, not just the preload size.
If the game shows as installed but refuses to launch at the announced hour, restart the client rather than reinstalling. Steam in particular sometimes needs a restart to swap the encrypted preload into a playable build, and Battle.net has shown “Play” greyed out for several minutes past the hour during past launches while servers came online.
How this page will change
The scenario tables above were built before Activision stated the unlock model. This page will collapse the two scenarios into one confirmed table covering Pacific, Eastern, UK, Central European, Japanese, Korean and Australian times, add preload start times per platform, and list the launch-day file size with the date the figure applies to. Check the “Last checked” line in the Quick answer box to see when the data was last verified.
FAQ
What time does Modern Warfare 4 release?
Activision’s official PC blog states the full game releases on 23 October 2026 at midnight local time. The recent unlock models Activision used were a split with PC unlocking at 9 PM Pacific the night before release and consoles at local midnight (Black Ops 6), and a split with PC unlocking at 9 PM Pacific the night before release and PlayStation at local midnight (Modern Warfare II and III). Conversions for both patterns appear in the tables above.
Is Modern Warfare 4 releasing on 23 October in every region?
The date is 23 October 2026 worldwide. Under a global unlock, players in Australia and New Zealand would start late on the evening of the 23rd, while players in the Americas would start that morning. Under a local-midnight model for consoles, Pacific regions start first in real terms. Activision’s PC blog states a midnight local time unlock.
Can I preload Modern Warfare 4?
Preload is standard for Call of Duty, and Activision’s official PC blog states that preloading for Modern Warfare 4 begins on 15 October at 9 AM PT. Activision normally publishes preload windows about a week before launch.
How big is the Modern Warfare 4 download?
Not published yet. Recent entries have exceeded 100 GB with every mode pack installed, and Call of Duty HQ lets you install only the Campaign, Multiplayer or Warzone components you want.
Do beta rewards carry over to launch?
Yes. Rewards earned during the beta are granted at full launch to the same Activision account. Beta weapon levels and player rank do not carry over; progression resets for everyone at launch.
Is there campaign early access?
Not announced. Modern Warfare II and III offered it to pre-orders about a week before release; Black Ops 6 did not. Check Activision’s launch post for the Modern Warfare 4 answer.
Will changing my console region let me play early?
Only if Activision uses a local-midnight unlock on that platform, and that model is not confirmed. A global unlock makes region changes pointless, and they carry account and purchase risks either way.
